Graduate Faculty Advisors

Our department offers M.S. degrees in six focal areas: Ecosystem Science, Environmental Conservation & Sustainability, Environmental Economics, Forestry, Natural Resources & the Environment, and Wildlife & Conservation Biology. Choose a program below to learn about the faculty and their research interests. Descriptions of each program can be found under Programs of Study

 

 
David Burdick

DAVID BURDICK

Research Associate Professor
Research Interests: Restoration of Coastal Habitats: salt marshes, seagrasses, beaches and dunes, and living shorelines.
David.Burdick@unh.edu
                                                   (603) 862-5129
                                                    Website

Dr. Jessica Ernakovich

JESSICA ERNAKOVICH

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Microbial Ecology and Ecosystem Function, Global Change, Disturbance
Jessica.Ernakovich@unh.edu
(603) 862-2216
Website

 
Serita Frey

SERITA FREY

Professor
Research Interests: Ecosystem Ecology, Microbial Ecology, Global Change
Serita.Frey@unh.edu
(603) 862-3880
Website

grady_stuart

STUART GRANDY

Professor
Research Interests: 

Stuart.Grandy@unh.edu
(603) 862-1075

 
Steve Jones

STEPHEN JONES

Research Associate Professor
Research Interests: 

Stephen.Jones@unh.edu
(603) 862-5124

Mcdowell

BILL MCDOWELL

Professor
Research Interests: Ecosystem Science, Biogeochemistry, Stream Ecology
Bill.McDowell@unh.edu
(603) 862-2249
Website

 
Scott Ollinger

SCOTT OLLINGER

Professor
Research Interests: 
Scott.Ollinger@unh.edu
(603) 862-2926
Website

Wilfred

WILFRED WOLLHEIM

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Nutrient and carbon cycling in aquatic ecosystems, Controls of water quality: dissolved oxygen, nutrients, micro plastic, Role of entire river networks in watersheds, Aquatic ecosystem services
Wil.Wollheim@unh.edu
                                                        (603) 862-5022
                                                         Website

 
Wymore

ADAM WYMORE

Research Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Watershed Science, Ecosystem Ecology, Stream Ecosystems
Adam.Wymore@unh.edu
(603) 862-0684
Website

 

 

 
Catherine Ashcraft

CATHERINE ASHCRAFT

Assistant Professor
Research Interests:  human dimensions of ecological systems, how environmental policies negotiation and design, how they respond to change, and renegotiation
Catherine.Ashcraft@unh.edu
(603) 862-3925
Website

Russel

RUSSELL CONGALTON

Professor
Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Geospatial Analysis, the Science of Where.
Russ.Congalton@unh.edu
                                           (603) 862-4644
                                           Website

 
Kelly Cullen

KELLY GIRAUD

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Nonmarket Economics, Renewable Energy, Natural Resource Economics
Kelly.Giraud@unh.edu
(603) 862-4811
Website

Rich Smith

RICHARD SMITH

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Agroecology; Regenerative Agriculture; Soil Health
Richard.Smith@unh.edu
                                         (603) 862-2724
                                         Website

 
Robert

ROBERT ROBERTSON

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Social Impact Assessment, Nature-Based Tourism
Rob.Robertson@unh.edu
(603) 862-2711

 

 

 

 
Kelly Cullen

KELLY GIRAUD

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Nonmarket Economics, Renewable Energy, Natural Resource Economics
Kelly.Giraud@unh.edu
(603) 862-4811
                                                 Website

Robert

ROBERT ROBERTSON

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Social Impact Assessment, Nature-Based Tourism
Rob.Robertson@unh.edu
(603) 862-2711

 
John

JOHN HALSTEAD

Professor
Research Interests: 
John.Halstead@unh.edu
(603) 862-3914

 

 

 
Ducey

MARK DUCEY

CHAIR | Professor
Research Interests: Quantitative Ecology, Forest Inventory and Biometrics, Quantitative Silviculture
Mark.Ducey@unh.edu
(603) 862-4429
Website

asbjornsen-heidi

HEIDI ASBJORNSEN

Professor
Research Interests: Basic and applied silviculture, agroforestry, restoration ecology, and watershed management.
Heidi.Asbjornsen@unh.edu
(603) 862-1011
Website

 
Jeff Garnas

JEFF GARNAS

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Forest ecosystems health
Jeff.Garnas@unh.edu
(603) 862-2094
Website

Gunn

JOHN GUNN

Research Assistant Professor
Research Interests: 
John.Gunn@unh.edu
(603) 862-2353

 

 

 
Adrienne

ADRIENNE KOVACH

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Conservation Genetics, Wildlife Population Monitoring, Species of Concern 
Adrienne.Kovach@unh.edu
(603) 862-1603
Website

Rem Moll Profile Photo

REM MOLL

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: wildlife ecology, spatial ecology, urban ecology, quantitative ecology, wildlife management
Remington.Moll@unh.edu
Website

 
Rebecca Rowe

REBECCA ROWE

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Community Ecology, Faunal Response to Environmental Change, Animal Impacts on Ecosystem Function.
Rebecca.Rowe@unh.edu
(603) 862-2810
                                             Website

 

All NREN faculty are able to advise in this disciplinary focus.