Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) Team

Vicky Barry (2017)
Sarah Beggan (2017)
Co-Captain  Devyn Blood (2018)
Co-Captain Julia Bjorkman (2018)
Captain Emerita Heather Burno (2016)
Laura Clancy (2019)
Rachel Fish (2019)
Tegan Fitzpatrick (2020) 
Emily Gibson (2016)
Megan Gordon(2018)
Sarah Harbinson (2019)
Courtney Kenefick (2017)
Kara McDonald(2020)
Amber McElhinney (2019)
Olyvia O'Brien (2020)
Co-Captain Cayden O’Dea (2017)
Mikaela Oustayan (2017)
Lauren Pozerski (2019)
Megan Presutti (2018)
Jessica St.Peter  (2018)
Courtney Snay (2020) 
Amanda Terbrusch (2020)
Olivia Thomson (2017)
Tianna Vestri (2018)
Cheryl Wickizer (2020)

Team Photo

The University of New Hampshire is a member of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) and competes in the competitive Zone I, Region 2 against other schools from the northeast. IHSA is a unique form of team equestrian competition in which each competitor draws a horse provided by the host school prior to their ride; no schooling or warm up of that horse by the rider is allowed. IHSA tests each rider’s ability to quickly and accurately assess their mount and ride it to the best of their ability. Teams are comprised of riders from walk-trot up to the Medal/Maclay level. Each score counts equally.

Riders also accrue individual points and may qualify to compete at the Regional and Zone Championships.

Try outs for UNH IHSA are held once per year in the beginning of fall semester. Membership is open to full time undergraduate students at the University of New Hampshire or the Thompson School of Applied Science. Riders must be enrolled in ANSC 402 (Horsemanship) or have taken the course at least twice previously to be eligible to try out. Incoming freshmen who are interested in trying out for the team are strongly encouraged to enroll in the earliest orientation session possible to increase their chances of getting a slot in ANSC 402 during their first semester.

The UNH Equestrian Team is completely self funded and members are required to complete fundraising obligations for each semester.  In addition, riders must pay to join the IHSA each academic year.

For more information about the team, please contact Coach Christina Keim at



2016 Regional Reserve Champion Team
2015 Regional Reserve Champion Team
2014 Regional Reserve Champion Team
2013 Regional Champion Team, Zone I Reserve Champion Team, 10th Place IHSA Nationals (Harrisburg, PA)
2012 Regional Champion Team, 3rd Place Zone I Championships
2011 Regional Champion Team, Zone I Reserve Champion Team, 10th Place IHSA Nationals (Lexington, KY)
2010 Regional Reserve Champion Team
2009 Regional Reserve Champion Team



2016/2017 Schedule Dates  (click on dates for show results)

Fall Semester

10/8 at Middlebury College (New Haven, VT) UNH ties for Reserve High Point

10/9 at UVM (Williston, VT)  UNH ties for Reserve High Point, Cheryl Wickizer wins High Point Rider

10/15 at Bowdoin (Nobleboro, ME) UNH wins High Point College, Sarah Beggan wins Reserve High Point Rider

10/22 at Colby Sawyer College (Bradford, NH) UNH wins Reserve High Point College

10/23 at Dartmouth College (Etna, NH)

10/29 at home  Sarah Beggan wins High Point Rider

10/30 at Endicott College (Boxford,MA)

11/5 at Dartmouth College (Etna, NH) UNH wins Reserve High Point College

Spring Semester

4/1/17 Regional Championships at Dartmouth College (Etna, NH)

4/8/17 Zone I Championships at Mt. Hoyloke College (South Hadley, MA)

Zone 1 Championships 2017 Qualifiers:

Sarah Beggan Regional Champion Open Flat

Devyn Blood Regional Champion Intermediate Flat

Lauren Pozerski Regional Champion Advanced WTC

Congratulations to Mikaela Oustayan, who was voted the USHJA Sportsmanship Award winner for Zone 1 Region 2

Regional Qualifiers for 2016-2017 Season:

Devyn Blood Intermediate Flat and Fences

Sarah Beggan Intermediate Fences, Open Flat

Vickie Barry Intermediate Flat

Heather Burno Intermediate Fences

Cayden O’Dea Intermediate Fences and Novice Flat

Courtney Kenefick  Novice Fences

Megan Presutti  Novice Fences

Sarah Harbinson Novices Flat

Tianna Vestri Adv WTC

Lauren Pozerski Adv WTC

The team has finished in third in the regional standings for the 16-17 season, and senior Sarah Beggan was the reserve champion Cacchione Rider for the region.